News Releases

2015 Stephen W. Cavanaugh Scholarship recipient named

Tuesday, October 27, 2015/Categories: News Release

BATON ROUGE, La. (October 27, 2015) - - Laykin Hair of Ball, La. has been selected as the 2015 recipient of the Stephen W. Cavanaugh Scholarship. Ms. Hair is attending the University of Louisiana at Monroe (ULM) and pursuing a degree in risk management and insurance.

LWCC established the Stephen W. Cavanaugh Scholarship Fund in 2006 in honor of Cavanaugh’s leadership and lasting contributions to the insurance industry in Louisiana. He was LWCC’s chief executive officer from the company’s inception in 1992 until 2006, the year he passed away. 

An alumna of Tioga High School, Ms. Hair was class president during her freshman, sophomore and junior years. She served as Tioga High School student body president, as well as District VII president of the Louisiana Association of Student Councils. Ms. Hair strives to always do her best in all elements of her life and is very involved in extracurricular activities. While attending high school, she was a member of Beta Club and Key Club. As an active student, Ms. Hair participated in powerlifting and softball, and was awarded the Wendy’s High School Heisman Award. She enjoys leading and taking part in children’s camps, vacation bible schools and youth mission trips with her church.

“Everyone at LWCC is extremely proud to be affiliated with the Stephen W. Cavanaugh Scholarship Fund,” stated President and CEO Kristin Wall. “We congratulate Ms. Hair on her wonderful accomplishments and wish her all the best at ULM.” 

The Stephen W. Cavanaugh Scholarship Fund, awarded annually and administered by the Baton Rouge Area Foundation, provides financial assistance to deserving Louisiana students who are majoring in an insurance-related field at a Louisiana university, college or community college. Applicants must submit academic transcripts, a statement about their career plans in the insurance industry and a letter of recommendation from a teacher or professor.

Many generous donors have contributed to the fund, and the LWCC board of directors matched all donations that were given prior to May 1, 2007. The founding donors include the late Aubrey T. Temple, Jr.; Community Foundation of Acadiana; Dwight Andrus Insurance Agency; Guy Carpenter & Company, LLC; Independent Insurance Agents & Brokers of Louisiana; Knox Insurance Group, LLC; Louisiana Workers' Compensation Corporation; LUBA Casualty Insurance Company; Star Service, Inc.; and Wright & Percy Insurance.

LWCC Media Contact:  Jennifer Vaccaro, (225) 924-7788,


Number of views (6228)/Comments (0)